USDA Names Six Members and Seven Alternates to the National Peanut Board

October 22, 2020 – ATLANTASecretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue recently appointed six members and seven alternates to serve on the National Peanut Board. The appointees will serve three-year terms, from Jan. 1, 2021, to Dec. 31, 2023, with the exceptions of the Missouri appointees and At-Large alternate appointee whose terms will begin immediately and will end Dec. 31, 2022. The members and alternates will be sworn in by USDA at the quarterly National Peanut Board meeting Dec. 2, 2020.

Tom Corcoran of Eufala is the reappointed member from Alabama. Thomas Adams of Newville is the reappointed alternate.

William Carte of Live Oak is the reappointed member from Florida. Nick Marshall of Baker is the new alternate.

Lonnie Fortner of Port Gibson is the new member from Mississippi and previously served as alternate. Alan Atkins of Hamilton is the new alternate.

Clay Deane of Sikeston is the inaugural member from Missouri. Russ Hoggard of Portageville is the inaugural alternate.

Ray Garner, Jr. of Roanoke Rapids is the new member from North Carolina and previously served as alternate. Julie M. Ward of Clarkton is the new alternate.

Paul Rogers, III of Wakefield is the reappointed member from Virginia. Westley Drake of Newsoms is the reappointed alternate.

Lucy Lacey Shackelford of Bonita, La. is the new alternate for At-Large.

The Board is comprised of 13 producer members and their alternates. Twelve members and alternates are from the primary peanut producing states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas and Virginia. An at-large member and alternate represent the minor peanut producing states.

Header image 2020 National Peanut Board and alternates: Back row (L-R): Neal Baxley, SC alternate; Casey Cox, GA alternate; Gayle White, OK alternate; Lonnie Fortner, MS alternate; Jeff Roper, TX alternate; West Drake, VA alternate; and Thomas Adams, AL alternate. Middle row (L-R): Micah Barham, At-Large member; Bruce Lee, NM member; Dan Ward, NC member; William Carte, FL member; and Greg Baltz, AR member. Front Row (L-R): Bud Bowers, SC member; Thomas Corcoran, AL member; Peter Froese, Jr., TX member; Andy Bell, GA member; and Les Crall, OK member. Not pictured: Allen Donner, AR alternate; Joe Morgan, MS member; Ray Garner, Jr., NC alternate; and Paul Rogers, VA member.


The National Peanut Board represents all USA peanut farmers and their families. Our mission is to improve the economic condition of USA peanut farmers and their families through compelling promotion and groundbreaking research.

NPB does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, sexual orientation, genetic information, parental status, and marital or family status.  The NPB agrees that it will fully comply with any and all applicable Federal, State, and local equal employment opportunity statutes, ordinances, and regulations, including, but not limited to, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964; the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990; the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967; and the Equal Pay Act of 1963.  Persons requiring alternative means of program communication (Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.) or mobility assistance should contact NPB at 678-424-5750 prior to attending the NPB event.

The National Peanut Board’s Peanut Promotion, Research and Information Order can be accessed on the USDA Agricultural Marketing Services website, or can be downloaded by clicking here.

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.